Summary
Favorites are your own shortcuts to the places in Planhat you go back to most - what you most frequently view and interact with
They appear in a dedicated "Favorites" area in the sidebar
Only you can see your own Favorites
You can "favorite" a Page, a View, a record, a Session, or a Tool such as Data Explorer or Notifications
Make something a Favorite via the star icon or the "Add to Favorites" menu option
You can remove each Favorite directly from the sidebar menu, or from the same place you added it (e.g. by deselecting the star of a Tool)
Who is this article for?
Anyone using Planhat OS who wants faster access to the work they return to daily
It's particularly relevant for Planhat Users who work across a small set of Companies (accounts), Views or reports (e.g. Dashboard Pages)
This feature is part of Planhat OS and is available to all Users
Article contents
Introduction
š Definition
A Favorite is a personal shortcut to somewhere in Planhat - e.g. a View, a record, a Session, or an area of the product. Favorites appear in their own part of the left-hand sidebar.
Most people work from a small set of places. A CSM covering a handful of Enterprise Companies (accounts) may open the same four Company Profiles, a Dashboard, and renewal View every day. Instead of searching through My Library or the Knowledge Base, Data Explorer or Content Explorer, they can easily find the records and Pages etc. they need in their sidebar.
What are Favorites?
Favorites are personal shortcuts (pins) to Tools, Views, Pages, records or Sessions in Planhat. Favorites are for the small number of places that you interact with most frequently.
You will find Favorites in your sidebar on the left of Planhat OS.
(You can collapse the whole Favorites part of the sidebar by clicking the chevron next to "Favorites", and click it again to open it back up again.)
š Tip
If you don't have any Favorites currently, you will not see the Favorites part of your sidebar. Once you have at least one Favorite, you will see the Favorites header show up.
Each Favorite is a shortcut only - a link to something elsewhere in Planhat - and doesn't hold any content of its own.
Some key characteristics are:
They're personal
Favorites are per-User
There's no shared or team Favorites list
They stay current
A Favorite links to the destination - it doesn't make a separate copy
The name of the Favorite is the current name of the item being linked to
If the thing that's favorited is deleted, it's automatically removed from your list of Favorites
What you can favorite
Tools, Pages, Views, records and Sessions can all be Favorites.
Tools
Tools are features that you can find within the Tools menu - such as Data Explorer, Signals, Email Manager, Knowledge Base and so on.
Click the image to view it enlarged
Pages
A Page is a building block of content in Planhat. Examples of Page Types are Dashboards, Documents, and Data Tables. Pages also include System Reports - both those for finance, and the PSA "Resource Allocation" Page.
Views
A View is a tabbed group of Pages - a way to organize related Pages.
Records
Data models are how CRM data is structured in Planhat. They are similar to the objects you may be familiar with in other software. Examples of data models are Company (for organizations that are your customers/prospects) and End User (the model for people at those Companies). Records are individual examples of those models - e.g. for the Company model, records might be Apple, BMW, or Coca-Cola.
Sessions
A Session is a chat with Planhat's general-purpose AI Agent, and/or with your colleagues (other Users).
š Important to note
You can't favorite a Section or a Shared Library.
How to set up Favorites
Adding a Favorite
Depending on what it is you're favoriting, to add a Favorite, you either click on a star icon, or select "Add to Favorites".
A Tool
To add a Tool to your Favorites, go to the Tools menu, and click the star next to it.
Click the image to view it enlarged
A Page
The main way for you to favorite a Page is to open it up (the screenshot below shows a Page, within a View, selected), click on the ellipsis symbol (3 dots), and select "Add to Favorites".
Alternatively, for Pages listed individually within your Library ("My Library"), mouse over its row, and then you can click on the star next to it to favorite it.
Click the image to view it enlarged
A View
You can add a View as a Favourite from within your Library ("My Library") - mouse over its row, and then you can click on the star next to it to favorite it.
Click the image to view it enlarged
A record
To favorite a record, open up that record's Profile (e.g. the Company Profile, if the record is a Company - as shown in the example screenshot below), click the ellipsis symbol (3 dots), and click on "Add to Favorites".
A Session
To add a Session to your Favorites, click on the chevron next to the Session name (see example screenshot below), and select "Add to Favorites".
š Tip
There's a limit on how many Favorites you can have, so if you find you are unable to add any more (e.g. "Add to Favorites" is grayed out), remove one you no longer use.
Renaming a Favorite
A Favorite's name is always the name of the item that the Favorite shortcut is for - e.g. if a Favorite is for a View called "Enterprise Customers", the Favorite will also be called "Enterprise Customers".
Therefore, to change what a Favorite is called, you would need to rename the underlying record, View, Page or Session. (You can't rename Tools.)
Removing a Favorite
You can remove Favorites directly from the Favorites part of the sidebar. Simply mouse over the Favorite you want to remove, click on the ellipsis symbol (3 dots), and select "Remove from Favorites".
You can also remove Favorites when you are looking at the linked Tool/Page etc. itself:
For items where you click an empty star to add a Favorite, you can click the filled star to remove the Favorite
For items where you select "Add to Favorites", you can select "Remove from Favorites" to remove it
š Important to note
If you lose access to something you had favorited (e.g. due to permission changes), it stops appearing in your Favorites. It isn't deleted - if your access is restored, the Favorite comes back
If the favorited item (e.g. record) is deleted, the Favorite automatically is deleted with it
Frequently asked questions (FAQs)
Q: Can other people see my Favorites?
A: No. Favorites are personal to you
Q: Is there a shared or team Favorites list?
A: Not at this time
Q: Can I rename a Favorite so it's different than the item favorited?
A: No - the Favorite always shows the current name of the record or View etc. that it points to
Q: What happens if I delete a record I'd favorited?
A: The Favorite is removed automatically
Q: Why has a Favorite disappeared?
A: Either the item was deleted, or you no longer have access to it. For the latter, if access to the item is later restored, the Favorite will reappear
Q: Why is "Add to Favorites" grayed out?
A: You've reached the maximum number of Favorites. Remove one before trying to add another
Q: Do my Favorites follow me between devices?
A: Yes. They're stored for you as a Planhat User
Q: Why can't I see the Favorites area in my sidebar?
A: You don't have any Favorites currently. Favorite an item, and you will see the "Favorites" heading appear
Q: I can see the word "Favorites" in my sidebar, but no individual Favorites listed - why?
A: You have most likely hidden (collapsed) the Favorites list by clicking on the chevron symbol next to the word "Favorites". Click the chevron next to "Favorites" to expand the list back out again














